Yawning through Sense and Sensibility


The Bookshelf of Emily J.

I think I’ve passed the age at which I can enjoy Jane Austen.  I finished reading Sense and Sensibility (1811) and number 54 on the BBC book list, but I didn’t really care to.  I felt bored and yawned through it.  A lot.

The plot doesn’t have much action.  In fact, there’s hardly any action.  It is about the sisters of a family who are trying to find husbands.  Hmmmm.  That sounds an awful like the rest of Austen’s books.

(Today, I don’t have my own photo of the book cover, but I found several lovely covers online and I’ll paste them throughout.  I love seeing different renderings.)

sense-sensibility-jane-austen-paperback-cover-art

What the book did offer, for me, was an exploration of the difficulties in being a woman during that time.  The book begins with a discussion of the Dashwood sisters as children from their father’s second marriage, and that he had…

View original post 332 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

