A NaNo Distracting


Davetopia

Last year I successfully completed NaNoWriMo. Although the experience was positive, and made a lasting improvement in my writing technique, I decided not to take part this year because I wanted to focus on completing existing projects. What I did not expect was that not participating would produce a noticeable reduction in my productivity.

Most of the forums and groups I use are in full NaNo support mode and I fully support this. NaNo is hard even if you are in the habit of writing frequently. And – while this has produced a large volume of discussions about methods of fast writing and such – it is no more difficult to exercise the willpower to avoid them than it is to avoid any of the other ways social media can become a time sink. Most NaNo advice threads are even tagged in some way, or at least can be identified…

View original post 331 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

